Alcester's efforts lands Club of the Year title - The Redditch Standard

Alcester's efforts lands Club of the Year title

Redditch Editorial 4th Aug, 2017   0

OFFICIALS at the South Warwickshire Summer League have awarded Alcester TC with the title of ‘Club of the Year’ for 2017.

Alcester have had an impeccable year with three men’s teams and four junior pairs entered into the various Wildmoor Spa League competitions where they have had an excellent season.

Their top Men’s A team claimed runners-up in the Premier Division while the Men’s B managed to avoid relegation from the top division.

Meanwhile, the Men’s C have secured promotion to Division One after coming second in Division Two.

From the junior sections, the A Pair won Pool A and then topped the semi-final play-offs in the Junior Cup to reach the final which will be played against Stratford in September.

Alcester’s B Pair only just missed out on the play-offs by two points in Pool D while the C Pair finished as runners-up in Pool A.

The decision to award Alcester ‘Club of the Year’ was based first by eliminating those who did not enter the Junior League, which left eight league teams.

After this, any team which had been fined or docked points for rule infringements, fielding only one pair or causing problems for league administrators were then excluded.

This left seven and among those, five had already won the award before: Evesham (2014), Henley (2011), Littletons (2013), Pershore (2016) and Stratford-upon-Avon (2009).

In order to spread the honour around, the previous winners were discounted which left Alcester and Chipping Campden.

With so many teams competing and with excellent end of season results, the vote went to Alcester.

Club chairman Duncan Robinson also pointed out the club’s match-play element was also successful throughout the season, not just for the men and the juniors, but also the ladies and mixed Aegon.

The Ladies A look like they will be promoted to the Premier Division while both mixed teams, who finished first and second respectively, were promoted to Division Two.

The Men’s Aegon also won their division.

League secretary Corin Bishop said: “Alcester have been involved with the Wildmoor Spa League for 28 years since joining when the league was founded in 1990.

“The club is led by their chairman Duncan Robinson and ably administered by their A Team captain Tim Kenneally, B Team captain Gareth Price and C Team captain Duncan Robinson.

“All three have done a splendid job organising their teams without a blemish especially this year.

“Stuart Beach is the club coach who organised the junior pairs in their competition and have done their club proud.

“For these reasons, Alcester Tennis Club is fully deserving of their Club of their Year 2017 title.”


Advertise with the Redditch Standard to reach your audience

Business Directory

From plumbers, to restaurants, we can provide you with all the info you need.


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.


Now, every week, you can also listen to a roundup of Redditch Standard Local News.