September 26th, 2016

White Hart defeat promotion rivals

White Hart defeat promotion rivals White Hart defeat promotion rivals
Updated: 1:06 pm, Aug 10, 2016

WHITE Hart A closed the gap on promotion rivals Baldwin B by defeating them 152-137 at home in Heart of England Thursday League Division Two.

Wins for Ian Humphreys 21-10, Stephen Turner 21-12, Ken Brown 21-12, Matt Higgins and Paul Matthews (both 21-20) takes them to within nine points of a promotion position.

The B team lost 140-132 at Marston Green A in Division Three as they they had four winners – Kirk Wright 21-16, Tim Hollingshead 21-19, Mick Perrins 21-12 and captain Norman Batchelor 21-9.

The Friday over 60s B team kept up with the pace at the top of Division Three by beating RABL B 118-74 which takes them to within three points of second placed Wootton Hall.

Their four winners were Rob Faulks 21-4, Ken Brown 21-6, Mick Perrins 21-15 and captain Brian Chatterley 21-7.

The A team struggled at Acocks Green College A where they went down 114-87 with just two winners – Stephen Turner 21-16 and Ian Humphreys 21-14.

In the Warwickshire and Worcestershire Saturday League, White Hart were heavily defeated 235-166 at Stoke Prior where they had just three winners from the 12 ties – Stan Pritchard 21-13, Dave Edwards 21-14 and captain Ian Humphreys 21-10.

White Hart stay at the foot of Yardley Wood Super League Division Three after a heavy 163-82 loss at Kings Norton Ex-Service where their only winner was Tim Hollingshead 21-16, although Tony Buckley was only one shot short of victory.

In Northfield & District League Division Two, White Hart A overcame visitors Wythall A 152-131 with wins for Tim Hollingshead 21-15, Ian Humphreys 21-13, Mike Estell 21-19, Paul Matthews 21-11 and Matt Higgins 21-13.

The B team were beaten 158-112 by Division Four leaders Triplex where their only winner was Sheila Humphreys 21-11.

White Hart B maintained their push for promotion from Division Four of the South & West Birmingham Over 60s League with an easy 121-78 victory over Wythall B.

Wins for Sue Sugden (21-19), Anne Batchelor (21-7), Rob Faulks (21-10), Graham Arnott (21-19) and Tom Hawkes (21-13) contributed to a fine performance by the team, captained by Kate Broome.